Can someone recommend me a drawing pencil

Nova

Everyone is suggesting pencils, but this is something a lil more important to consider. 

The blue and the red sketching pencils! These are for building up the structure, gesture and shape of the drawing before you break out your pencils. As a beginner, I actually suggest you only work with the following: a 3H, an F, a 2B and a 4B, for fill. As far as paper quality, you most likely need to start with some throwaway sketchbooks. A lot of drawing happens when you figure out what exactly you wanna do. Do you wanna do architecture, or lighting, or figures? Do you wanna work with wet mediums (paint, watercolor, ink) vs dry mediums (pencil, coloured pencil, chalk)? 

A personal note is that I had gone to school for this, and those IRL boring skills helped me get better at my personal art- which is a lot of furry art nowadays. And if you wanna draw furry art and wanna seriously get started doing art in general, I really, really, really suggest you start with figuring out how shapes and figure drawings work. Once you figure out how a body works and how light falls on it, when you start doing furry art you'll be much happier with the results. Even some cursory stuff in learning gesture, shading and color theory will help. You don't need to take it seriously, and not every drawing will be a masterpiece. Your goal in art is trying to get as close to what you have in your head as possible, and to be happy with what you're doing. 

Resources:

9 minutes ago, Lemon said:

Everyone is suggesting pencils, but this is something a lil more important to consider. 

The blue and the red sketching pencils! These are for building up the structure, gesture and shape of the drawing before you break out your pencils.

Aren't those harder to erase? I have blue lead inside one of my mechanical pencils and I can't use it for anything I intend to ink because it simply won't come off the paper.

Just now, malibu said: