New job

Alexxx-Returns

Ladies and gentlemen, it has finally happened. I've managed to get a job outside the healthcare industry. I've landed a job as a mailman.

So the reason I went into healthcare (I worked as a community carer, and then as a nursing assistant in a hospital) was to get the relevant work experience for med school. Hating every second of it, in hindsight, was not a good sign.

So med school didn't work out. Most of the people there were vile and my roommates bullied me about my weight and my appearance and my mental health declined massively. At the end of the day, I got kicked out because I failed all my exams.

So the new plan is to get some funds together to go do a Master's in a molecular biology field. Just... anything but healthcare again. But try as I might (I got a lot of interviews for jobs, but was never able to get the actual job), the only place that would hire me was in the healthcare industry as a nursing assistant again. I didn't even get interviewed for that job, I just walked into it.

And I spent the next 3 and a half months feeling kinda hopeless about my chances of escaping the industry. But I'm handing in my notice tomorrow, and I can't wait. The company I work for has treated me like crap.

• Like 9

2 minutes ago, DrGravitas said:

Congrats on the new job! Glad to hear you got out of that awful work. Even better to hear you already have a new plan; Molecular Biology is a fascinating field! Any thoughts on the kind of career or jobs you'd like to do have with this Master's?