Super steampunk q&a

Caledonian

With the influenes of all those "AmA" topics i thought to do something similar, but with a topic i am a self proclaimed expert in. ;)

I may not be able to answer all questions (because i am not g.d. fawksen claiming i can strictly define steampunk) but i will surely try!

Ask me Anything...about steampunk!

Not sure if this goes here or the blackhole so mods, please move it to the appropriate place if it's placed wrong.

• Like 1

What time period(s) is steampunk supposed to be based off of and what historical elements are referenced in steampunk? Or is it just an aesthetic?

Are there any famous stories or works of fiction that incorporate steampunk?

Is bioshock a steampunk?

13 hours ago, DrGravitas said:

What is the finest piece of Steampunk art (physically crafted or digital) you've come across?

It's hard to pick one, but I'm very fond of master maets's works

http://thesteamemporium.com/maets-gallery

13 hours ago, Zerig said:

why is cyberpunk way cooler than steampunk?

:^)

Because we are steamin' hot.

Also because layered clothing with the leather and brass that make up most steampunk outfits are really warm.

Coming around to answer more later :)

• Like 3

9 hours ago, WolfNightV4X1 said:

What time period(s) is steampunk supposed to be based off of and what historical elements are referenced in steampunk? Or is it just an aesthetic?

Steampunk is based on the age of steam. The worldwide period of industriallisation after the invention of the steam engine. That means,Roughly, 1770 to 1920. It is also often linked to the victorian era in britain, though edwardian steampunk happens as well. 

9 hours ago, WolfNightV4X1 said:

Are there any famous stories or works of fiction that incorporate steampunk?

Most famous are probably wild wild west and steamboy. The golden compass also has steampunk elements.

10 hours ago, WolfNightV4X1 said:

Is bioshock a steampunk?