The Lab: Anthro Ears and Hair

Tsuujou

I was streaming a drawing yesterday evening when I encountered a bit of a problem. I don't really struggle with hair in the conventional sense, but there's a specific style I tend to draw for a character. I drew her at an angle I have not before. I noticed an issue.

I have this drastic redesign of Krystal I've been doing since 2013 and I shockingly didn't realize this could be a concern. 

This was done last May and this was where I finalized the main details. Large fireball bun in the back. Much larger bangs with ears just behind. And long sideburns segmented into 3 puffs with 2 bands each to carry consistency with her tail.  

c524a392b97d321972a5662a555bd006.png

I've refined it with small tweaks since. This is last week and what I'm most happy with. Looks fine, I'd say.

ee55822bb95624891d9411c4c4e85df4.png

However, this was last night...

9ae6ee5b09771b499746637669861251.png

Do you see the problem? The entire back of her head where the hair is being pulled tightly into her band? 
I didn't realize the ears would get in the way until I actually got to this point so I didn't know how to fix it on the spot like that. They look glued on right on top of her hair. I'm not satisfied with that, but it's the best I could do at that moment. If anthros with ears on top of their head like Krystal here have hair, most artists including me will typically do very voluminous bangs and sideburns at deliberate angles to try and cover where the ears connect. But I kind of don't want to do that here, it actually wouldn't even make sense.