do people want traditional art anymore?

ShioBear

so im a traditional comic artist by trade, ive always drawn with my trust pencil and Fabercastel ink pens. i do some digital art here and there but my true love will always be in traditional.

im just wondering. do i have to do digital to get commission work nowadays? or is there a market for traditional art. ill leave some examples of my traditional art below, leme know what you think.

IMG_20151119_041633.jpg

IMG_20151127_151939.jpg

IMG_20151206_164324.jpg

IMG_20151206_164938.jpg

IMG_20151208_021725.jpg

IMG_20151213_063951.jpg

• Like 2

Personally speaking, I've sold traditional pieces along with digital ones, especially packed in "series" (as in, more istances of a single situation/scene), but I think they're popular mostly because, compared to my digital stuff, they're a cheaper and quicker alternative. But that's me, others might have different prices and experiences with it especially depending on what traditional media they're using and how they're pricing their artwork.

With that said, in general when it comes to traditional media, we can all agree that it always looks better in real life: no matter how good a photograph or a scan can be, the joy of this kind of art is that you can actually touch it; so if you're opening commissions, consider to be available for shipping your original pieces to the customers.

If your art is going to be a digital exclusive or, in any case, uploaded on some online gallery, I advise to use the scanner instead of taking pictures with a camera (unless the piece is more than just a drawing, as in paperchilds or similar things, and can't be scanned). You are going to lose some quality that's for sure, but there are tons of options between scanner and drawing program setting that can help you improve the quality of your acquired image. A good scan would have nitid lines and clear colours, without making everything too flashy and ultra-saturated.