Blue-Skies Cooking Ideas

DrGravitas

I am bored with my usual cooking. I want to try different things. REALLY different things. But, I'm a terrible cook. I've failed at spaghetti, made horrible chicken strips, and set my grill on fire multiple times. So it's probably safer if I run ideas by other people first.

This thread is for folks to post outlandish or unusual cooking methods or ideas and to discuss them!

The idea currently in my mind is for solving a problem with my ribs. I like dry rubs, but it usually falls off while I go through the motions of cooking them. I currently use some tomato to help keep it on (usually not very successfully) but I  don't want to use sauces or sticky-sweet things to hold it on! What if I made up a big pan of spices and salts, buried the ribs in it, and then put the whole thing on the grill? Maybe I could even reuse some of the mix in future rib runs?

@DrGravitas

Sounds basically like the process for breading chicken, my advice is if you want the spices to really get into the meet is get some lemon or grapefruit and squeeze it into the meet (also add sage to it), you don't need alot but it really helps be juicy. What I usually do is buy steak and mince onion, tomatillo, and yellow bell peppers, mince up in a pan and make into delicious sauciness. Because my steaks ars cheap I cook them in the pan with the vegetables, when the steak is as cooked as you want it to reduce the heat and layer delicious veggies on top till it simmers down.