Rant/Rave: Starting Therapy

Sidewalk Surfboard

You've nothing to worry about, modern psychology has come a long way.

On the other hand if you get there and the room is covered with crucifixes, swastikas or (in extreme cases) blood, it's probably a good idea to quietly leave...

I've had some very positive experiences, especially with this one therapist who took a Jungian approach. He moved away, yet looking back, he had a lasting impact.

If they give you Thorazine right away, and strap you down to a bed, and the nurse's name is 'Ratched', you'll know you're in the wrong place.

Good luck, and keep us posted. Mainly, I've found talk-therapy to work best; SSRIs made me a mess, but individual results may vary...

I'd say "don't worry OP" but that'll be impossible. From all the research i've done on therapy though, the first session is really a "get to know each other" kind of thing. It'll be more clinical than anything else. I think it's because in order for insurance and shit to work, there has to be a diagnosis, so they'll basically be looking at that, but it won't be set in stone or anything. Just paperwork.

So yeah. Best of luck to you!

Are they going to fix your aspergers for ugly singing robots?

Because congrats

:V

Seriously though following you as long as Ive been youve had some weird and crazy issues insanely evident online (and Im not talking about your obsessions, but your panics and overreactions and emotional states)

Good to know that you're finally going to get some form of help to be a better person

Note: it wont work right away, or soon, or in a lifetime. But that doesnt mean you can every say "well it doesnt work" and write yourself off as never being fixable.

Because fuck it we all have to attempt improvement until we're dead, impossible as it may seem

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, Sidewalk Surfboard said: