Rant: Big-name software developers are idiots

Calemeyr

I'm no programmer, but a lot of the crap that's been shoveled out of Microsoft, Google, and Apple is downright terrible. Chrome, any new Microsoft software, website layouts, iTunes...what the hell is wrong with these people? They throw in features nobody uses, make usability a nightmare and design atrocious, it's as if the stuff is there just for them to have something to work on later when it breaks or when people complain about the ugly layout. Is it just to please investors? Do new features and redesigns cause stock upticks that gain the investors money?

Flickr is another one. Crap. Yahoo is crap. Everything is targeted toward the pea-brained selfie generation which only cares about or remember the most recent things.

Yes, you google/apple/microsoft/yahoo/whatever nerds may be smart with your coding, but a lot of you are anti-social cretins with no understanding of usability, aesthetic, or efficiency....basically no theory of mind. I'm no "arteest" either, but man, you'd think someone as intelligent as these people would know how to make something at least halfway presentable.

Is this you?

(fatfuck brony)

I'm not a neckbeard, and I don't own a fedora or Trilby, so no. Unlike most internet people, I don't wear geek t-shirts, either, and I'm in pretty healthy shape, too. But nice try. gb2FA

But you know it's true. A lot of the recent design updates to popular sites have been updated for mobile use first. Flickr used to have pages, but then was convered into a scrolling, expanding tileset, which eats up your computer's memory if you go too far down. iTunes has always been shit, but it's got even worse. And Youtube, well, it's not too bad, at least it has pages. It's a smart business move for those who want to make a fast buck, but damn, if you want to go a little further but aren't a computer nerd like the guy in the picture, you're stuck.