"Real" furries?

Mr.Kumquat

As I am fairly new to the fandom, and don't have a fur suit or a fursona, I have run into people on the interwebs that insist I'm not a "real" furry. My first crush was the Robin Hood character from the Disney movie when i was in 3rd grade for crap sake! Anyway, just wondering if anyone else has a similar story and what they did about it. Or if you have your own definition of what a furry is. 

Everyone has different and personal standards concerning what makes or what doesn't make a person "furry", and looks like you haven't met their standards; some even argue that most of the animal cartoon characters you see in TV or in comics aren't bona fide furries, because they're not been conceived with the fandom in mind. So screw everything and make up your own rules for it! If you feel that you'd like to refer at yourself as a furry, I don't think you need other people's approval. Go for it. =D

I remember years and years ago someone labeled me as a "fan" and not a "furry" because the rule 34 art doesn't interest me. I never bothered to counter his beliefs, it never seemed like an argument worth fighting for. xP

• Like 9

13 minutes ago, Valery91Thunder said:

So screw everything and make up your own rules for it! If you feel that you'd like to refer at yourself as a furry, I don't think you need other people's approval. Go for it. =D

I remember years and years ago someone labeled me as a "fan" and not a "furry" because the rule 34 art doesn't interest me. I never bothered to counter his beliefs, it never seemed like an argument worth fighting for. xP

I like it :). I mostly say furry because I'm not really attracted to other people. Haven't been on a date in years :/   

There's also the fact it's easier to just say you're a furry than whatever branching-off form you see yourself as, I'll normally go with saying I'm a furry when I see myself as a scaly, it saves me explaining the difference to every Tom, Dick and Harry.

• Like 1